{Giveaway: Handmade Organic Baby Quilt}

cloud9-giveaway

1

We’re giving away this precious baby blanket by Canadian Etsy seller, SewnNatural . It’s an organic, handcrafted crib-size quilt (31″x43″) is cream-colored with delicate pink swirls. It promises warmth and comfort with a tightly woven organic cotton batting inside.

Organic means great for baby and great for the earth. This quilt makes a great surface for diaper changing, is a soft clean place for baby away from home, and would be perfect for lining a crib. Can also be used as a blanket for a toddler.

***HOW TO WIN IT:

  1. Visit SewnNatural.etsy.com & choose your favorite item from her shop
  2. Leave a comment on this post about which item you choose & why (include your name & email address in case you are chosen as the winner)
  3. Tell me why or how you decided to start living more “green”
  4. Get extra credit if you post about the giveaway on Twitter. (you must put your twitter URL so we can check)

Good Luck! Contest ends at 12 noon on Monday, March 23rd.
****
SewnNatural makes handcrafted modern eco designs for babies, kids and the whole family. Using all natural fabrics (wool, cotton, silk, bamboo) and many organic and upcycled, vintage materials is one of the ways I put eco-forward thinking into action.

“I use these gorgeous, often very colorful sustainable materials to make designs that are durable and functional – my version of sustainable design. I also work to ensure that my towels, toys, quilts, mobiles, wall art and clothing made out of organic and natural fibres are affordable and accessible.”

Look for her feature in the upcoming May/June issue of Mothering magazine.

42 thoughts on “{Giveaway: Handmade Organic Baby Quilt}

  1. This quilt would make the perfect gift for my cousin who just had a baby girl. She and her family are interested in green/sustainable products.
    From the giveaway sponsor’s shop I like the EMERALD GREEN Organic Quilt.
    To answer your other question – a greener lifestyle is a healthier lifestyle for our bodies and for the planet.
    Thanks for listening! 🙂

  2. When I renovated my apartment I made a conscious effort to use green construction materials, such as bamboo panelling and eco-friendly paint. They cost a little bit more, but they were definitely worth the extra investment.
    As for Sewn Natural’s shop, I’ve fallen in love with Petaluma the Pink Elephant. Every kid needs their own pink elephant to grown on!

  3. What a beautiful quilt! My favorite item from SewnNatural’s shop is the Vintage-Inspired Mod Organic dress because I adore the colors and pattern of the material and as she says, it’s sweet, but not too sweet.

    I was considering making a list of all of the things we do to live “green” and posting it on my blog, because although it seems extensive, all of the things we do are incorporated into our lifestyle and therefore easy. One of the easiest things that has a big impact is to compost food waste and recycle your plastics, papers, cans, etc. We have almost no trash!

    Thank you for considering my entry.

  4. I love the White Ruffle Dress – it is adorable and oh so girly! Trying to live more “green” actually saves “green” ($) – so that’s good. 🙂

  5. I like the BAMBOO ORGANIC BLANKET – Earthy Ecru
    I love that it is made from bamboo.
    We are going to get hard wood floors and are going with bamboo flooring.

  6. I love the SPRING PINK DOTTED SWISS Organic Cotton Quilt / by SewnNatural.
    We bring our own bags now to the stores when shopping, recycle, and don’t use harsh chemicals to clean.

  7. What a great blanket! It looks so comfy! Definitely a bonus that it’s organic!

    I also love this towel! What a great idea! Fun for kids and easy for mom!

    l

  8. I would love to give the quilt to my dear friend who is expecting a baby girl or keep it for my own princess.

    I love the rockabilly dress!!

  9. I also tweeted!!

    Oh, and to answer the second part of the entry, I live more green by using reusable bags, drying clothes only until they are mostly dry, not completely dry, and using cool water/low heat when doing laundry!

  10. The peronalized towels are really nice, would make a great shower gift. Living “green” helps to cut back on waste, which I think is important.

  11. I bought a quilt for my baby due in Sept. from SewNatural about a month ago and I love it…but I will admit I had a little buyers remorse for not getting the “BAMBOO BLANKET – Organic Creamy Beige” because it just looks so soft and warm and I love how neutral it is. NOT that I’m not happy with my quilt, I honestly couldn’t be happier and have told many of my friends about her since.
    When I bought the quilt I felt compelled to thank her for giving us a green alternative at an affordable price. I have always wanted to take care of my environment and realized the importance of leaving it as green as possible for our future generations long before it was “cool” (although it was always cool). As a Native American, I feel like this creed has been inherited by the basic principles of my culture. I feel like by living my life as green and in tune with my Earth as possible is not only good for my planet, bu for my children who will learn through my example.
    Having my third child has only pushed me further toward my efforts in this. It’s been 7 years since I had my last child, and I can see a difference already in the availability of green items and it gives my heart hope. I applaud anyone who is a part of this most important movement, and anyone who chooses to support it.
    “The Earth does not belong to us, we belong to the Earth.”

    Oh, and I tweeted. ;O)
    http://www.twitter.com/GypsyJewels

  12. SewnNatural has some of the most beautiful things I have seen! I can tell she really loves what she she does because it is obvious they are made with love! I had to read her profile… and YUP, she learned from her Grandma!!! I was right!!! Bravo Gramma you taught her well!!!

    I love the WARM CAFE AU LAIT Organic Cotton Quilt / by SewnNatural because it just so much fun!! It is Gender neutral so if you don’t know the sex of your little one…. your all set!!!

    What a Great Gift this would make!!!

    This is a precious Giveaway!!!
    Leslie

  13. I am writing to let you know how much I love this fabric and baby quilt. I found the sewnnatural artisan, Jane, on etsy and she was able to make me such a beautiful double-sided duvet comforter out of the same material. My baby has slept soundly with it ever since. I would love to win the quilt so my daughter has a version of her snuggly crib comforter to take with her when we travel. The fact that it is organic makes gives me tremendous peace of mind as she sleeps with it each night.
    How/When did we start living more green? When my husband and I were in our early twenties we decided to just eat organic and we changed our existing tiny budget to allow us to go to the farmer’s markets and local organic produce markets to do this. As we got older it expanded to non-toxic home products, recycled paper products or reusable alternatives, and organic body products. When I got pregnant it expanded to organic clothing, g diapers, organic supplements for me and baby, and non-toxic no-voc paints. Now that our daughter is one we still make sure she plays with non-toxic green toys and eats nothing but organic food. We want to keep her healthy and safe as well as the earth. We also keep a green perspective and respect for our environment by going out everyday to explore the beautiful natural world around us!

  14. I am a Vegetarian! I have been living “more green” for 20 years!!! Eating The Veggie way is much friendlier to the environment, saves water and is much just a Better for the Earth!!!
    I am NOT however a PETA kinda of Girl, I am a let live woman!!!
    Leslie

  15. I can’t wait to see the rabbits for Easter! All the stuffed animals are charming. Just breaks my heart to think our precious babies snuggle up to commercial stuffed animals that are toxic. Bless you bless you bless you for providing us with a healthy alternative.

    I live green for many reasons, reverence for the vessel that is my body, reverence for the Earth, nurturing is our nature!

  16. Oh – how I’m going green. We are recycling as much as possible, and I have made large cloth shopping bags to reduce the use of plastic bags.

  17. Ohh, I just had a little girl and this would be perfect for her!
    I like the organic sleep sack, the personalized bath towel, the Berries and Blooms quilt..
    I use a lot of reusable and natural cleaning products. I make my own bath and beauty supplies. And I do it because I want to help save the earth for my kids and their kids. 🙂
    And I tweeted about this giveaway! http://twitter.com/Lillyshaystyle
    Thanks for the chance to win, I have my fingers crossed!

  18. I particularly like the upcycled octopus creatures from SewnNatural’s shop, they are adorable. And this quilt is sweet too, perfect for my niece who is only clothed/fed/plays with organic and green, non toxic wares. Going green, not just in the sense of the word and little things like changing lightbulbs, but as a philosophy – is a huge and important commitment. It changes the way you eat, where you buy/from whom you buy, how you live/drive/travel… it’s all-encompassing, and it’s amazing – I can say from experience. 🙂
    Thanks for considering my entry.

  19. I am writing to let you know how much I love this fabric and baby quilt. I found the sewnnatural artisan, Jane, on etsy and she was able to make me such a beautiful double-sided duvet comforter out of the same material. My baby has slept soundly with it ever since. I would love to win the quilt so my daughter has a version of her snuggly crib comforter to take with her when we travel. The fact that it is organic makes gives me tremendous peace of mind as she sleeps with it each night.
    How/When did we start living more green? When my husband and I were in our early twenties we decided to just eat organic and we changed our existing tiny budget to allow us to go to the farmer’s markets and local organic produce markets to do this. As we got older it expanded to non-toxic home products, recycled paper products or reusable alternatives, and organic body products. When I got pregnant it expanded to organic clothing, g diapers, organic supplements for me and baby, and non-toxic no-voc paints. Now that our daughter is one we still make sure she plays with non-toxic green toys and eats nothing but organic food. We want to keep her healthy and safe as well as the earth. We also keep a green perspective and respect for our environment by going out everyday to explore the beautiful natural world around us!

  20. I started being more green because I realized that this world isn’t going to get any better if there are so many people ignoring the existing problems that humans have caused to the earth. For awhile, I thought well it doesn’t matter what I do because everyone else is still doing things to harm the earth. Yet, there are so many people that are taking steps to be more green and reduce their carbon footprint so it’s the least I can do.

    Now I recycle and I don’t use plastic bags or other plastic items as little as possible. I compost because it reduces garbage. I buy green items. I look for clothes that are organic for my family and I.

    There are so many nice items in the Sewn Natural sho. I like the Rockabilly Dress best!

  21. Hi:)

    My favorite item is her PETALUMA the Pink Elephant!

    So cute!

    I’m doing my part by up cycling clothes I have to make things on my etsy shop (almost done with my first project!)

    Beautiful Baby Blanket! Would love to have this as a gift for my friends shower:)

    Marie Isabella

    (mariethegelfling@aol.com)

  22. My favourite item was the rockabilly dress. It’s so cute while not being too girly, it looks easy to sew. I also liked the gemini jumper style little dress. I can’t wait for that pattern to come out.
    I’m pretty freakin’ green, because i use cloth everything- menstrual pads, toilet cloth, unpaper towels, handkerchiefs. And I mostly sew them myself out of upcycled cloth. I’m even sewing cloth diapers (i’m ttc). I’m always looking for greener ways to go.
    The quilt is lovely. I would probably save it for the little one that i’m anxiously awaiting.

  23. I love the retro rainbow wall hanging; it is so cheerful. I don’t imagine that anyone could look at it and not smile. I also like the sleep sack, and the Onida and Mandalay Monkeys.. so sweet!
    We’re expecting our first little one, which has encouraged us to be even more “green” than before; mostly, we’ve been focusing on assembling used clothing, cloth diapers, and trying to sew and D.I.Y. everything as much as possible. We’re helping to organize a “really really free market” for the second year in a row in town. The RRFM’s are an amazing way to reuse and acquire needed items while sharing a community experience. If there’s one in your area, you’ll love it! If not, get some pals and organize one! ❤ and peas,
    Marci M

  24. I visited SewnNatural’s Shop and I really like the “Your Name Goes Here – PERSONALIZED TOWEL SET / by SewnNatural”!!

    I like it because the colors in the name letter are so bold and pretty and that each child can have one!

    I go green by recycling/litter collection as much as we can! I try to think of new ways to help the earth even if it is just a little. My biggest effort goes into saving dogs and cats.

    Love your green blog!
    Angie
    baileybobby6(at)hotmail.com

  25. what a gorgeous quilt!
    i love the rockabilly dress as well!! such a great shape.

    we’ve done a lot to try to be greener – but our biggest thing is to go with cloth diapers. we love knowing we arent adding to the landfills and it’s nicer on babies skin as well!!

  26. I like the retro black and white quilt because I am redoing a room in retro with the colors of black and white. I have decided to live green because I realize how important it is for our youth. If we don’t do something NOW, what will the world be like when they grow up? I plan to do most of my shopping from shops that are eco friendly like Sewn Natural. What a pretty baby quilt!

  27. I’d say Onida the Monkey is my favorite item in SewnNatural’s shop. I love the fact that she’s all organic, and even more that she’s stuffed with wool. Not only are the sheep adorable, but their wool is very soft and wards off nasty mites and mildew!

    I started living more green by doing a few things… i’m a college student, so i don’t drive and I walk most places I go, and I carpool when I do ride in cars, or just take mass transit. I also reuse many things rather than throw them away, like making bracelets from Aquafina bottle wrappers and using bottles as vases. I use blackle.com to preserve enegry, and I use the natural sunlight by opening the windows instead of turning on the lights during the day… my roommate calls me a vampire!

  28. I think that all of the quilts are gorgeous. I also really like MANDALAY the Monkey b/c he is adorable and my little one LOVES monkeys right now! In an effort ot live more green, I am using an eco-friendly showerhead which not only conserves water but also saves money! Thanks for offering this giveaway! I would love to win this beautiful quilt!

    Keilann
    teq97[at]hotmail[dot]com

Leave a Reply

