{be still}

Handmade Art on Etsy – Be Still – Framed 5×7 Scripture Print by ByEveryWord.

Psalm 46:10 (New International Version)

10 “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations,
I will be exalted in the earth.”

As much as I love yoga, I have always had questions about whether it is safe to practice as a Christian.

I read an interesting article on ChristianityToday.com about this debate.

Several Christians have told me it was safe to do it as an exercise for promoting relaxation….but I’m still unsure.

I have becoming increasingly unsure now that I have started the journey of growing in Christ & deepening  my walk with God.

I’ll let you read the article & please leave your thoughts & comments for discussion.

2 thoughts on “{be still}

  1. Hello!
    I too am a Christian, and while I have never taken a ‘true’ yoga class, i do take a ‘bodyflow’ class at the Goodlife Gym and it is a mixture of yoga, pilates and tai chi. I also wondered about the lure of yoga and wanted to make sure that it would not be something that I would be slowly unrealizingly sucked into. I find that I make sure that my mind is right when i head into class, that my focus is specifically on Jesus and not some different concept of God. I find that i enjoy the movements for the movements themselves and I don’t focus on the way to relax that the instructor gives.
    I think the fact that you are concerned shows that you are on the defense, which is good. It’s good to share your worries with friends around you and ask them to keep you accountable… real true friends who can call you out if you start saying things that may be only slightly out of line with the Bible and the Gospel that Jesus preaches. It also opens up opportunities to talk about Jesus with people who are in your class.

    I think it’s ok to be doing yoga, just make sure you keep checking to see where your heart is.

    Kate

  2. All I can say is that there are a lot of roads to heaven. You are not giving up your personal beliefs by practicing yoga. If anything, practicing yoga will help you focus on who you really are inside so that you can have a better relationship with god. That’s why they call it enlightenment. It’s not a selfish act, but a way of being true to yourself and becoming closer to your god. I would recommend yoga to people of all beliefs. Karin

Leave a Reply

