{11.01.11 ~ November 1st ~ Thankful for Country Roads}

 

country roads take me home

{11.01.11 ~ Today I am thankful for the dust-filled country roads, and the cadence of my tires crunching slowly over the gravel. I look around in splendor and marvel at the beauty around me. The trees create majestic shadow-filled tunnels that end in a bright burst of sunlight as the sunshine peeks through the openings.

Time stands still for just a moment as I meander down memory lane. Here you will find no cold slabs of concrete, or the hollowness of a city street. No, here you find everything. If you slow down enough, you can hear and see miracles all around you. The mother bird feeding her babies in her nest, in all the glory of her sweet melodious birdsong.

The squirrels scurry across the road, and woodsy jackrabbits hop with their soft grey fur blending into their surroundings. I see a beautiful doe leading her precious white-spotted fawns into the meadows. Then comes the brilliant buck, with horns heralding strength and might as he leaps effortlessly over fences.

Cattle are grazing on the hill, and mustard-hued clusters of wildflowers cover the fields like a golden blanket.

Yes, I take sheer delight in this leisurely drive with windows down, sunroof open, the breeze blowing through my long hair. The radio is turned down…because the best music is nature’s song. And my heart is bursting with thankfulness and joy.

 

Have a very blessed day! What are you thankful for?

 

Leave a Reply

